April Challenge – Book Patterns


Oh well! I’ve decided that it is  time I start using  the patterns in the books  I’ve been so eager to  buy and then put to side as I got distracted by other projects.

I got inspired by some sew along ideas and decided to set my own challenge:

I do not know if it is a bit too early in my  blogging days to attempt this, but I’ll give it a go. Feel free to join me if you  wish I’d love to see what projects you  make from your books that come with patterns.

I’ll start my challenge on 2 April 2012. I’d love to add links to your own posts if you  want. Although I understand with such short notice you might not have time to plan for such as challenge.

I know it  is a bit late is making this decision, but just come up with it yesterday, and some times if I do not put my ideas into practice straightaway, some times they end up being lost.

Also, I thought that I should be using materials I already have. No shopping for new fabric! So I guess this is my second challenge. So maybe I should have called it double challenge. Little did I think that this will be more of a challenge that I first expected.

As you  can imagine, because of my second challenge – no fabric shopping !!!!! 😦 – I spent all day yesterday trying to decide what patterns to make and what fabrics, that I already poses, to  use during this challenge.

Here’s what I’ve decided for now that I’ll be making and the fabric I’ll be using. It is  a draft as knowing me, I’ll probably change my mind when I get to  actually do it:

Sew Serendipity by Kay Whitt

The Damask Tunic

 I’m thinking for contrast red fabric.  (I also wanted to make Parisian Jacket, but remember no shopping allowed)

The Colette Sewing Handbook by Sarai Mitnick

The Taffy Blous

I’ve chosen a see through patchy fabric. Might be using solid color for the edges though. Also I love the Licorice dress, but need to buy fabric for it – so not this time.

Twinkle Sews – 25 Handmade Fashions from the runway to your wardrobe by Wenlan Chia

The Annie Hall Skirt

Love the Annie Hall  skirt, not very sure fabric I chose will work for it as it does not have much stretch. But we will see.

the Masculin et Feminin skirt

The Masculin et Feminin skirt is another great skirt from her book. I love the other patterns as well, but at the moment I do not have the right fabrics for them. (ohh me and my second challenge. But Anita ordered me not to shop for more fabric, already got to much)

The BurdaStyle Sewing Handbook by Nora Abousteit with Alison Kelly

Erin’s variation skirt is lovely. I’ll probably be using white contrast trimming, but not yet sure.  I also like Casey’s dress and Novita’s blouse. but again not enough fabric or  not the right one. So some other time.

Amy Butler’s Style Stitches

I though of using furry fabric  for the  main panels, to experiment and see how it works. Will be using one big panel not two as in the picture.

I’ve got some more books with patterns by not yet decided what I’m making. Will try to make all these projects but cannot promise anything . 🙂

So what you think? Did I pick the right fabrics? Do you  have any suggestions or comments, I’d love to know them.

Author: Simona

I don't really like talking about myself. But, I love sewing and after reading a lot of blogs on the internet about it, I've decided to give it a go as well. I am Romanian born, but live in the UK. I am a bit selfish when it comes to sewing. I tend to make stuff more for myself. Others have to go through a lot of torture in order for me to make something. My mum did it twice. Well I only wanted to make the dresses fit her perfectly. And in the end they looked great.

2 thoughts on “April Challenge – Book Patterns”

  1. I am NOT going to participate in your challenge, YET. I have Sew U, Sew U stretch, Burdastyle, Sew Everything Workshop, Shape shape (a Japanese sewing book), and I plan on acquiring The Colette Handbook. “one day” she said wistfully “one day”.

    Good luck with your challenge, looking forward to seeing what you do.

    1. The Colette Handbook is worth it! I’ve learnt so many new things that will improve my sewing.
      I’m sorry to hear that you will not join me, but I was a bit to sudden, and I do have some time off,so’ll fill it with loads of sewing 🙂

Leave a Reply

