Cosies for my lovely helpers


And I do not talk  about my little lovely pets, they will not agree with me that  some clothes will make them prettier. They will just hate me for it. I remember when both Bella and Ginger tried some dresses I made. They would not move until  you  removed them. So unless you want them to  sit in one corner, not a good idea to dress them up. 😦

SNV32170As  I am always spending more time  on the internet than actually sewing, I found a lovely tutorial on the internet on how to make your own cosies for your sewing machines. I guess you  can apply it for other objects, if you  want to protect them from collecting dust while you  do not use the, such as printers for example.

SNV32165

As my scraps stash is growing, I decided start using it  to make some cosies for my sewing machines. So far I’ve made two. One for the overlocker – which to be honest doesn’t look as good as I wish; so new one will be coming – and one for my Toyota sewing machine – which I love.

So I started by cutting my pieces after using the formula given in the tutorial. I’ve taken two  sets of  measurements for my machines.  I was a bit generous with the overlocker measurements.

Because I was a bit generous with the measurements my cosy for my overlocker ended a bit too long. The only piece I did not use scraps  of fabric was the middle panel of the main fabric. The rest of the pieces came from my fabric scraps. If I do not need to use the pockets I might also use it with the lining on the outside. I just love the contrast between the prints. So uncommon :).

For my Toyota Jeans machine I only used scraps. I constructed the middle panels for both the lining and main fabric out of three smaller ones. Then cut them to the required dimensions. Unfortunately I did not pay attention to the position of the pocket piece and I ended up with  a pocket that has the pattern  going sideways rather the vertical. But I think it gives the cosy some character. I am quite happy with this one, looks much better than the other one. Might be that the measurements are more accurate, so it fits better.

I used fabrics  with  different weights, but I suggest you  use, if you  decide to make some  cosies for your machines,  in medium to  heavy weight fabrics or use interfacing on lighter fabrics to make your  cosies more sturdy.

If you  want to  give it a go, you  can find  the tutorial  at: http://patches.typepad.com/notes_from_the_patch/2010/11/tutorial-tuesday-32-sewing-machine-cozy.html

clip_image001

Author: Simona

I don't really like talking about myself. But, I love sewing and after reading a lot of blogs on the internet about it, I've decided to give it a go as well. I am Romanian born, but live in the UK. I am a bit selfish when it comes to sewing. I tend to make stuff more for myself. Others have to go through a lot of torture in order for me to make something. My mum did it twice. Well I only wanted to make the dresses fit her perfectly. And in the end they looked great.

2 thoughts on “Cosies for my lovely helpers”

Leave a Reply

